## Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Proceedings

## **September 14, 2020**

The regular meeting of the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education was held on the above date at Beaver Dam High School. President, Chad Prieve, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Bev Beal-Loeck, Marge Jorgensen, Tony Klatt, John Kraus, Jr., Laura Lerwick, Lisa Panzer, Chad Prieve, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: Gary Spielman.

Mr. Prieve led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jorgensen moved, Beal-Loeck seconded, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting on August 10, 2020, as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Jorgensen, at the request of the President, announced the board may recess into closed session per Wis. Stat. §19.85 (1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility, specifically to discuss specific employees. The board will reconvene into open session for the possible transaction of business and adjournment.

Jorgensen moved, Beal-Loeck seconded, to remove Item 11.0 Closed Session from the agenda as there is no need to convene into closed session.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Jorgensen moved, Kraus seconded, to adopt the agenda as amended.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Dr. White, Director of Human Resources, presented updates to the Employee Handbook relative to new required Title IX language. She requested approval of the language as it is written as set forth by the requirements of Title IX.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to adopt the Title IX language updates to the Employee Handbook as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. DiStefano, Superintendent, provided an update on the Return to School plan for 2020-2021. He reported that the district continues to monitor COVID-19 with the Dodge County Health Department and track positive cases within the district's census tract. The district plans to continue with Option B based on the plan and current statistics. He expressed appreciation for Dodge County Health Services and the district nursing staff for their support and communication in response to positive cases. He said that wearing masks will continue along with handwashing and social distancing. Students and staff will continue to be encouraged to practice safe and healthy habits and to monitor health at home. He reviewed protocols for students and staff who exhibit symptoms and are tested for COVID-

19. He requested flexibility for the Middle School and High School administration to work with physical education teams to create a plan for the use of locker rooms for students in grades 7-12. He explained that weather/snow days will provide an opportunity for online instruction to count for a partial day of instruction.

Board members expressed their appreciation for the health services staff.

Mr. DiStefano presented a donation in the amount of \$2,500 from Reed Chrysler to be used for expanding wireless access for the purposes of outdoor learning opportunities specific to the elementary and middle school levels.

Tyjeski moved, Lerwick seconded, to accept the donation from Reed Chrysler in the amount of \$2,500.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Board members recognized staff and students for the impressive start to the school year and appreciation to all the staff involved with virtual learning. They thanked the Jefferson staff and those involved in getting the school ready for the beginning of the school year.

Mr. Prieve presented Ms. Beal-Loeck with the Past President Award and thanked her for serving as Board President.

Mr. DiStefano recognized Ms. Tyjeski for achieving Award Level 4 and Mr. Prieve for achieving Award Level 3 for participation in Wisconsin Association of School Boards professional development opportunities.

Ms. Beal Loeck, Operations Committee, reported that the committee did not meet in August. The next committee meeting is scheduled for September 21.

Ms. Panzer, Teaching and Learning Committee Chairperson, reported the committee did not meet in August. The next committee meeting is scheduled for September 21.

Board members shared the engagement opportunities they participated in over the past month.

Panzer moved, Kraus seconded, to approve the following resignations and retirements: Trevor Gronning-Computer Science Teacher-Middle School (Resignation effective 8/14/20); Annie Lemmenes-Grade 1 Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (Resignation effective 8/11/20); Colleen Pariso-PLTW/Health Teacher-Middle School (Resignation effective 8/12/20); Heather Robbins-Grade 1 Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (Resignation effective 8/27/20); Taylor Sueflohn-Grade 6 ELA Teacher (Resignation effective 8/28/20); and Louise Vossekuil-Teacher Assistant-Prairie View Elementary School (Retirement effective 9/26/20).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Beal-Loeck seconded, to approve the following leave of absence request: Kathy Adamson-Science Teacher-Middle School (Military Leave 1<sup>st</sup> Semester 2020-2021 school year)

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following appointments: Celina Alvin-Instructional Coach-District; Rebecca Antil-Teacher-Lincoln Elementary School; Brooke Bross-Grade 6 ELA Teacher-Middle School; Emilie Kamphuis- Computer Science Teacher-Middle School; Lou Ann Mantei-Grade 3 Teacher-Washington Elementary School (LTS 10/19/20-11/25/20); Mary Meyer-Grade 1 Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (LTS); Kayla Murray-Physical Education Teacher-Wilson Elementary School (.5 LTE); Emma Sasser-Science Teacher-Middle School (LTS-1st Semester 2020-21 school year); Christine Skogg-Literacy Support Teacher-Prairie View Elementary School; Emmanuel Westmoreland-Math Teacher-Middle School; and Valentina Zelenko-Grade 1 Teacher-Lincoln Elementary School (LTE 2020-21 school year)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Klatt, Kraus, Lerwick, Panzer, Prieve, Tyjeski, and Beal-Loeck. No-None.

Dr. Schieffer, Director of Student Services, presented the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction Special Education Model Forms and Policies and Procedures Manual for adoption. She explained the district has been following this model for a number of years and boards are required to adopt this model on an annual basis.

Tyjeski moved, Kraus seconded, to adopt the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction Special Education Model Forms and Policies and Procedures Manual as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. DiStefano reviewed the board policy updates by Neola and district revised policies for first reading. The policies will be presented for final reading next month.

Tyjeski moved, Kraus seconded, to approve the payment of financial claims (Voucher #378, #379, #380, #381, and #382) for District Credit Card, ACH File, Net Payroll, Payroll Taxes, WEA Trust Advantage, Health Savings Account, Payroll Related Voucher, Fidelity, Franklin, WEA TSA, Wisconsin Retirement System, and District Insurances for a total of \$5,129,641.72. (A listing of these vouchers can be found in the Accounts Payable Check Register.)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Klatt, Kraus, Lerwick, Panzer, Prieve, Tyjeski, Beal-Loeck, and Jorgensen. No-None.

Kraus moved, Beal-Loeck seconded, to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 7:34 p.m.

<u>/s/</u>	
Chad Prieve, President	
/s/	
Marge Jorgensen, Clerk	